MSU FACULTY EMERITI STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2013 ROOM 303 INTERNATIONAL CENTER

I. Chairperson Gliozzo called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. Members in attendance: Pauline Adams, Joe Chartkoff, Alan Fisher, John Forsyth, Rita Gallin, Charles Gliozzo, Bruce Miller, Jim Rainey and Gary Stone

II. APPROVAL OF JANUARY 9, 2013 MINUTES Rainey moved, Adams seconded, approved as submitted .

III. DISCUSSION OF FEA WEBSITE - JOHN FORSYTH Several errors and outdated entries were identified. Forsyth requested further advice regarding the content and organization of the site. Website URL is facultyemeriti.msu.edu

IV. BOARD OF TRUSTEES - PAULINE ADAMS: 25 January, 2013. Two new Associate Professors were appointed with tenure, and the football coach's contract was extended one year to 2018. Bonds were authorized for projects, new investment manager was named. Long-term lease of Flint Journal newspaper property for human medicine. A contract was awarded for reconstructing the Shaw Lane - Bogue intersection. Authorized planning for improvements at Munn arena and for renovating Butterfield Hall. Professor Wolfgang Bauer discussed research on sustainable energy production. Their team will use an MSU farm to generate energy with a bio digester. Next meeting of the trustees will be April 12. The trustees seem to be reducing the frequency of meetings from monthly to quarterly.

V. FACULTY SENATE AND HEALTH CARE - GARY STONE Health care issues quiescent, waiting for responses to RFPs and other questions. Probably impractical to make changes in third party managers before open enrollment for 2013-2014. No particular progress with respect to an on-campus clinic for employees.

Faculty Senate heard President Simon report on a study for future directions reflecting input from a previous survey. UCC reported on how changes are made in the curriculum and described the long process and reviews before actions come to Faculty Senate. Routine changes to courses and name of a department.

VI. UNIVERSITY COUNCIL INTERIM FOR ROVNER -BRUCE MILLER Missed a meeting, having not been advised of the date.

Lectures: January 25 David Firestein former foreign service officer and now Vice President of EastWest Institute, "Toward a new Normal?: Tectonic shifts in US-China relations." March 18 will be Mordichai Kreinin discussing the Euro. April 1, Warren Wood discussing fracking. In May Paulo Sabbatini talks about vinoculture.

VII. STATUS OF FEA AWARDS - JIM RAINEY Awards will be presented at the academic retirees lunch April 2. He has two, maybe three, nominations for individuals, none for an organization.

VIII. FEA HISTORY PROJECT AND SUGGESTIONS - JOE CHARTKOFF Discussion of material reviewed by Professor Chartkoff for this project. The committee was asked to consider three matters:

- 1. List committee members and officers at least once each year in the minutes, including the unit from which they are emeritus and their terms of office. This information is included as an addendum to these minutes as an iterim effort.
- 2. Clarify, possibly through a bylaws amendment when each year of a member's term begins and ends.
- 3. At the start of each year note in the minutes the chair and members of each subcommittee.

IX. ORAL HISTORY-PAULINE ADAMS Scheduling of recommended interviewees is adjusting to the individual being out of the country. It was noted that the oral history interviews are on the Labrary's wbs site and should be linked through the emeriti web site, facultyemeriti.msu.edu.

X. NEW BUSINESS. None

The meeting adjourned at 2:47 pm.

The next meeting will be Wednesday, March13, 2013 1-3 pm.

Submitted by John Forsyth

ADDENDUM MEMBERS OF THE STEERING COMMITTEE

Charles Gliozzo, Chair, History, 2011-2014 Bruce Miller, Vice Chair, Philosophy, 2010-2013 John Forsyth, Secretary-Treasurer, Computer Science and Engineering, 2010-2013 Pauline Adams, Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures, 2011-2014 Jenny Bond, Food Science and Human Nutrition, 2011-2014 Bill Cambray, Environmental Science Policy Program, 2011-2014 Joseph Chartkoff, Anthropology, 2012-2015 Alan Fisher, History, 2012-2015 Rita Gallin, Sociology, 2011-2014 James Rainey, Hospitality Business, 2010-2013 Evelyn Rivera, Zoology, 2011-2014 David Rovner, Medicine, 2010-2013 Albert Sparrow, Pediatrics and Human Development, 2010-2013 Gary Stone, Finance and Insurance, 2012-2015